Simply, Audrey

First off, I apologize for the ever so long-winded nature of my first post. If you are reading this, I can only hope you did finish the first one and will appreciate future “shorter” posts.

Alright now that that’s out of the way…

Audrey

The quote above is a favorite of mine by the truly iconic Audrey Hepburn. If you know me well, you know I have a slight obsession with her (along with Kate Middleton, and Mike and Ike’s of course). I admire her class, her pose, her comedy, and dignity.

It was this past week that I picked up the May issue of Vanity Fair. I cannot remember the last time I bought a magazine; however I made an exception this time from my normally stingy ways to make the purchase simply because Audrey was on the cover.

Audrey’s beauty and character have been and will continue to be long remembered past her lifetime. She had an air that combined grace and power that defined her on screen and created a beautiful actress.

But it is not only her public career that she is remembered for. Her humanitarian efforts as a UNICEF ambassador that led her to multiple impoverished areas around the world defined her as a blessing to many.

This brings me to the above quote. Look past all the possessions and material drama. Past all the cravings and so called necessities (yes, that even includes my magazine). What is left? Only the things that truly matter. The relationships. The people. The families. And the friends. Today, I urge you to “hold on to each other,” whoever your “others” may be. For at the end of the day, they are all that really matter. They are all that produce pure joy. Brilliance. And bliss.

I admire Audrey for leaving behind a past that helped and cared for people. I hope to do the same.

I realize this post is not much shorter than the first, it’s a process!

3 thoughts on “Simply, Audrey

Leave a Reply

