“Back to Yesteryear”

Growing up, Fridays meant movie nights at my house. It was never a spoken tradition, but without fail every Friday night seemed to have the same occurrence of events … tennis, pizza, and at least one movie.

These years have since past and most Fridays now consist of long hours at work.  Therefore, in an attempt to bring back just a little bit of one of my favorite “traditions,” I have decided to make Fridays “movie day” on brilliance and bliss (forgive me but I am a rom com fanatic & even more so a hopeless romantic, hopefully you don’t mind)!

I have chosen the first movie simply because a quote from the movie worked perfectly for the title and theme of this post. Picture a boat.  Twins who aren’t actually twins.  And two lovers rekindling the spark.  If you haven’t figured it out yet, it’s Parent Trap, the 1998 remake.

Parent Trap is the only movie I saw at an outside theater.  It has Natasha and her British accent.  It has Lindsay before she went to rehab.  It has London.  And it has Napa. It has “An Everlasting Love.”  It has a happy ending.  It has brilliance.  And yes, it has bliss.  And thus all the makings for a spot on my favorite movies list.  I can’t help it, God made me like this!

And so I share my favorite scene of the movie. Perhaps I’ll perform it for you someday in a British accent (I have it memorized).

Lizzie: “And I suppose you just expect me to go weak at the knees and fall into your arms and cry hysterically and say we’ll just figure this whole thing out, a bi continental relationship with our daughters being raised here and … and there and you and I just picking up where we left off and growing old together and … Come on Nick what do you expect? To live happily ever after …?”

Nick: “Yes, to all of the above, except you don’t have to cry hysterically.”

Lizzie: “Oh, yes I do!”

End Scene

And so I say today, believe in happy endings, believe in second chances, believe that this weekend will be “beyond brilliant” (yes, another quote).  Believe you can bring the best parts of your past to the present.  And then actually do it!

Have a beautiful weekend!

xxo,

Miss Bliss

I’d love to hear from you … what are some of your all time favorite movies?

2 thoughts on ““Back to Yesteryear”

Leave a Reply

