The Sane Sister

I would like to dedicate this post to my newly 20-year-old sister, Lys.  Happy Happy Birthday! I wish you all the best of what God has in store for you in this coming year.

I have grown up in a family of three girls.  And although at times I’ve wished for a brother, having two younger sisters was exactly the way it was meant to be.

Alyssa is the sane sister.  She’s calm and practical, sarcastic and yet ever so loving.  She’s quiet when it’s more than necessary, loud at much fewer times.  Lyssa is beyond brilliant and beautiful.  She deals with me, but even more … she gets me.  I can confide in her, I can rely on her.  Her goodness goes beyond what is needed and her love for the Lord is powerful.

F. Scott Fitzgerald said, “You are (one of) the kindest, loveliest, tenderest, and most beautiful people I have ever known- and even that is an understatement.”

Alyssa, in every way this quote represents exactly you.  Have a simply blissful birthday!

And so to the rest of us out there celebrating our “un-birthdays” today or maybe it is your birthday as well (in that case “happy birthday”) spend the day, and all days for that matter, being a friend.  Be the person that can be relied upon and trusted.  Be an “Alyssa.”  A person I look to continuously be like!

lys and I

(Big sister and littler sister … the littlest sister was not yet around at this time!)

I love you, Alyssa.

Love,

your big sis

One thought on “The Sane Sister

Leave a Reply

