The Spunky Sister

I would like to give a shout out to my baby sister, Nat (keep in mind when I say “baby” I mean 16-year-old youngest sister)!

It was just last weekend I got a phone call from this ever protective one.  I do not live at home with her anymore, but this last Sunday she happened to be in “my area.”

She knew I had little to eat at my apartment and even less money in my account as it is the beginning of the month when everything is due, and thus in her ever so sweet nature, she wanted to take me out to eat.  Her treat.  Nothing fancy, just something we both would like.  Naturally, that would have been Del Taco had I not had to work.  But none the less it led to a great introduction of … the spunky sister.

Natalie is a little different from Lys and me (and if you know us all, you know this to be true).  She is loud, argumentative, firm, and states her beliefs.  She is extremely strong-willed and bold.  She has spunk.

But there is a side to Nat that most people don’t know, or ever bother to get to know.  She is one of the most caring people.  She looks out for others, especially her older sisters (boys who mess with us better watch out for her).  Natalie has the best heart with the purest of intentions.  She not only searches for the good in people but works to include everyone.  She has a genuine spirit.  Nat has the best spunk.  The kind of spunk I hope and pray people never drive out of her.

And thus I share this poem by Robert Frost.

Nature’s first green is gold,
Her hardest hue to hold.
Her early leaf’s a flower;
But only so an hour.
Then leaf subsides to leaf.
So Eden sank to grief,
So dawn goes down to day.
Nothing gold can stay.

Natalie will forever be the little kindergartner who picked me up from school on Halloween in her Tinker Bell costume … except now she drives and is looking for a summer job.  And so today I say to not just her but to everyone else no matter your age, “stay gold” (yes, I do have the urge to put “Ponyboy”) for as long as you can.  Stay true to your youth, your naive nature, your pure heart.  Continue to look for the good in others long after you realize there may not be that much good in them.  Continue to be the good the rest of the world needs.  Share your spunk, and never shield it from others.  “Stay gold” because it means far more than staying young; it means you can still see the brilliance in a world filled with anarchy.

And to anyone who has the pleasure of knowing Natalie … never so much as try to take away her brilliance, her bliss, or her spunky way, because I can be just as protective!

Image

(We kind of look alike)
“Stay gold” Birdy. I love you!

Leave a Reply

