Breakfast at Bekah’s

My admiration for Audrey started when I thought she was Jennifer Love Hewitt.  It was the summer of 2006.  I had just graduated from junior high.  I was 14.  And I watched The Audrey Hepburn Story where Jennifer played Audrey and immediately I was hooked.  The rest of the summer I wore my hair with a bump on the top of my head and pigtails, Audrey’s signature look from my favorite film of hers.  If you haven’t figured it out yet, today’s movie is Breakfast at Tiffany’s, only one of the most brilliant movies.

Audrey was able to make even the role of a … we’ll say “society girl,” look classy.  She was light and carefree, eccentric and free-spirited.  She was distinctly divine in her own way.

As I can’t quite figure out my favorite scene of the movie (it’s a toss up between Paul and Holly’s date at Tiffany’s and the closing scene where she finds cat) I’ve decided to try out a new weekly post which will be titled something along the lines of Breakfast at Bekah’s and will hopefully take place every Monday.  It’s a process.

Breakfast has always been my favorite meal of the day.  All the bests … pancakes, omelets, COFFEE, donuts, newspaper.  With this in mind, Monday’s will begin the week with a short quote and current fact on entertainment, sports, or really anything that interests me.

There is a small part of Holly Golightly I can identify with … her ability to build walls.  Simply stated, she is too scared to let people in because she’s afraid … afraid of loving, afraid of being apart of something special.  I tend to do this often.  I don’t let people in too easily, I stay guarded, I keep the walls high, sometimes too high.  This blog is an attempt to not change so much but not be as afraid.

Thus with this in mind, I invite you to join me most Monday’s for Breakfast at Bekah’s.

One thought on “Breakfast at Bekah’s

  1. Pingback: Monday Night Football | brilliance and bliss

Leave a Reply

