Happy Independence Day

Roadtrippin’ // Day 1

“It is good to have an end journey toward; but it is the journey that matters, in the end.”

Ernest Hemingway

Well, we were supposed to leave at 4 AM, but instead in ever pleasing Penner fashion, a good five hours and seven minutes later, my family and I began the family vacation we have been planning for some time!  And so I say Happy 4th of July from somewhere in central California where it is currently 112 degrees outside as I write in the car at 3:45 PM (we have yet to reach our final destination for the day, thank goodness)!

Our trip could not have started off less picaresque.  Imagine an In-N-Out so crowded … you leave.  A Baja Fresh and similarly the Quiznos next store with odors less than appetizing.  Thus on to Plan D!  Before this afternoon I couldn’t remember the last time I ate McDonald’s, well … that is no longer the case.  To say the least, we will not be stopping in the town of Kettleman on our way back home.  It can only get better from here!

That’s the thing about vacations though.  Things don’t always happen as planned and yet you still manage to make the best memories.  The moments you live and work to repeat.  I hope you are celebrating our nation’s Independence with the people who matter most to you just as I am.  I wouldn’t have wanted to spend lunch any other way.  God Bless America!

Image

P.S. As we have now arrived at 5:30 PM to our hotel, I have internet to post!

Leave a Reply

